There are two in-house regulatory bodies, governing the use of all animals on campus: the Internal Animal Users Committee (IAUC) and the Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC).

The campus-wide Internal Animal Users Committee (IAUC) provides oversight and guidance for the operation of all campus animal facilities including issues of space and services.  The committee also assists researchers in the design of experiments utilizing animals to ensure that the minimal amount of research subjects required for statistically significant results are used.

Internal Animal Users Committee (IAUC) (Aug 2018):

  • Pr. Colin Jamora, InStem (Chairperson)
  • Pr. Raj Ladher, NCBS (Facility Coordinator)
  • Dr. Hiyaa S Ghosh, NCBS
  • Dr. Arjun Guha, InStem
  • Dr. Latha Chukki, ACRC administrator
  • Dr. Sangeetha, ACRC veterinarian
  • Dr. G.H. Mohan, Veterinarian, ACRC co-Head
  • Dr. Aurélie Jory, MGEF Head & ACRC co-Head

The Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC) reviews all the research proposals involving the use of live vertebrate animals other than non-human primates ensuring that the famous Russell and Burch’s three ‘R’s concept – Refinement, Reduction and Replacement is invoked in all the projects for better and more humane science. There are two IAECs on campus:

For NCBS IAEC - July 2017:

  • Dr. Vatsala Thirumalai, NCBS, Chairperson
  • Dr. Hiyaa Ghosh, NCBS- Biological Scientist
  • Dr. Sandeep Krishna, NCBS- Scientist from different biological discipline
  • Dr. Raj Ladher, NCBS- Biological Scientist
  • Dr. G.H.Mohan, NCBS Veterinarian, member secretary
  • Dr. Jagadeesh S. Sanganal, CPCSEA Main Nominee (Veterinary College Bengaluru)
  • Dr. P Saravanan, External Scientist (IVRI, Bengaluru)
  • Dr. Sreevastava Venkataramana, Socially Aware Nominee (Institute of Animal Health & Veterinary Biologicals, Bengaluru)
  • Dr. Samarendra Narayanan - CPCSEA Link Nominee

For InStem IAEC - July 2017:

  • Prof. Sumantra Chattarji, InStem, Chairperson
  • Dr. Praveen Vemula, InStem- Biological Scientist
  • Dr. Akash Gulyani, InStem - Scientist from different biological discipline
  • Dr. G.H.Mohan, NCBS Veterinarian, member secretary
  • Dr. P. Krishnamoorthy, CPCSEA Main Nominee
  • Dr. P Saravanan, External Scientist (IVRI, Bengaluru)
  • Mr. R. Shantha Kumar, Socially Aware Nominee
  • Mrs. Rosa J. Samuvel - CPCSEA Link Nominee