Joint Graduate Entrance Examination for Biology and Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (JGEEBILS)

The JGEEBILS test is a shared entrance test for graduate programmes in Biology and interdisciplinary life sciences. The test originated from the TIFR annual entrance test for Biology, which was used by DBS/TIFR as well as NCBS/TIFR. The motivation for this shared test is to reduce the difficulties that students faced with multiple entrance tests, and to reduce the duplication of effort by many institutions in conducting such examinations. JGEEBILS is intended to serve as a common point for students from any science discipline or engineering to start the process to apply for biology graduate programmes around India. Participating institutions contribute questions and logistical support for conducting the examination. 

Each participating institution has its own admission process and eligibility criteria. The JGEEBILS test is only one step in this. In general, applicants must apply separately to each participating institution that they are interested in. Please visit the institutional websites for details of these different entrance processes.

Question papers from past years are hosted at the TIFR site under the 'Biology' links:


ACTREC: Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research and Education in Cancer, Mumbai (

Ashoka University (

Bose Institute: Bose Institute, Kolkata (

CCMB: Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad (

CDFD: Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics, Hyderabad (

CHG: Centre for Human Genetics, Bangalore (

IISER: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research

         IISER-Bh, Bherampur (

         IISER-K, Kolkata (

         IISER-P, Pune (

         IISER-TVM, Thiruvananthapuram (

         IISER-T, Tirupati (

IMSc: Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai (

InStem: Institute for Stem Cell Science and Regenerative Medicine, Bengaluru (

MSLS: Manipal School of Life Sciences, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Manipal (

NBRC: National Brain Research Centre, Manesar (

NCCS: National Centre for Cell Science, Pune (

NIBMG: National Institute of Biomedical Genomics, Kalyani (

NII: National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi (

NISER: National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar (

SINP: Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata (

THSTI: Translational Health Science and Technology Institute, Faridabad (

TIFR: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

         DBS-TIFR: Department of Biological Sciences, Mumbai (

         NCBS-TIFR: National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru (

         TCIS-TIFR: Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences, Hyderabad (


Programmes offered at each institution: ​ PhD at all the listed institutions, except NIBMG and RCB.
Integrated MSc-PhD at TIFR (all Centres), IISER (all locations), Bose Institute, NIBMG, and RCB.
MSc at NBRC. MSc-by Research at DBS-TIFR.
Test date and venues: The online test will be held on Sunday, March 7th, 2021 in the following
cities: Agartala, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Bhillai, Bhubaneshwar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Cochin,
Delhi, Guwahati, Haldwani, Hyderabad, Indore, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Madurai,
Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Patna, Pune, Varanasi and Visakhapatnam.
Applications for JGEEBILS:​ Submit online applications at
Application fee: Male Applicants - Rs 1,200/-; Female Applicants - Rs 600/-. Payment can be made
online by Netbanking/Credit/Debit cards/UPI etc. as per modes available for the payment gateway.
Hall tickets will be available for download only after successful payment.
Fee waivers: ​ A waiver of application fee on grounds of financial distress may be requested by a letter
from the Principal or the Head of the Department justifying the request. Students may apply online
and send the waiver letter/request from the Principal/HOD (on their letter head duly signed and
stamped) by post to “The Asstt. Registrar (Academic), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Homi
Bhabha Road, Colaba, Mumbai 400005”. Alternately, the recommendation letter can be scanned and
uploaded profile. These requests would be considered depending on availability of seats and cannot be
Date and time of JGEEBILS: Sunday, March 7, 2021, 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Last date for receiving applications for Hall Tickets: January 31, 2021.